Vegan chocolate is any chocolate that is made without ingredients that come from animals. If you are a chocolate fanatic on a quest for quality chocolate brands that are vegan, the first step is to check the list of ingredients. Look for chocolate bars with a minimal amount of ingredients. A typical chocolate bar should include chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter (yes, this natural cocoa fat is vegan!), and vanilla. The fewer ingredients, the purer the deliciousvegan chocolate bar is, that you have been eyeing.
High-quality dark chocolate is a great option for vegans. Look for chocolate with a cacao content of 50% or more. The higher cacao percentage indicates a higher chocolate content. Not a fan of super-dark chocolate? Vegans can enjoy chocolate with almonds, dried fruit, or mint, as these inclusions are often vegan-friendly. Caramel, peanut butter, truffle, or toffee filled chocolates, unless specifically noted as vegan, should be avoided as they typically contain dairy. However, not all dark chocolates are created equal. As a general rule of thumb, be sure to double check the ingredient label, as some brands add milk, or fillers developed from dairy, such as milk fat, to their dark chocolates.
Like all diets, there are varying degrees and types of veganism. Chocolate that one vegan recognizes as a great option might not be acceptable to another vegan. For instance, there is much debate in the vegan communities over whether or not foods that include honey and/or refined sugar are considered animal byproducts. Therefore, some vegans choose not to consume products with these ingredients. There are many versions of veganism and each vegan follows their own unique diet and lifestyle. Whether your dietary preference is for environmental, health, and/or ethical reasons, find what works for you!
Ah, chocolate. With its multitude of good qualities, it's no wonder that one of the first questions asked by those thinking about an animal-friendly lifestyle is “wait a minute, can vegans eat chocolate?” The answer is a resounding YES!Can vegans eat any chocolate? ›
Vegans can enjoy chocolate with almonds, dried fruit, or mint, as these inclusions are often vegan-friendly. Caramel, peanut butter, truffle, or toffee filled chocolates, unless specifically noted as vegan, should be avoided as they typically contain dairy. However, not all dark chocolates are created equal.What in chocolate is not vegan? ›
Traditional milk chocolate, as you might guess from the name, contains milk and is definitely not vegan friendly. However some chocolate companies use coconut or another plant-based milk to replace dairy for a creamy and smooth flavour, so even vegans can enjoy a 'milk' chocolate.Is chocolate is vegan or Vegetarian? ›
The good news is chocolate is considered vegetarian and many dark chocolates are considered vegan.Is Hershey's chocolate vegan? ›
Hershey's gets into vegan chocolate
For its new releases, Hershey's landed on creamy oat milk to replace the dairy milk typically found in its treats. Both the Reese's Plant-Based and Hershey's Plant-Based Chocolate bar are part of the company's goal to expand its offerings in the better-for-you category.
Most peanut butter is a simple mixture of ground peanuts and salt. Others might also contain oil or added sugar. Once in a blue moon, you may find a kind that contains honey, but nearly all peanut butter is 100 percent vegan.Is Ice Cream vegan? ›
Most vegan ice creams are made with coconut milk, almond milk or soy milk. All of those bases come from plants, and none include anything that comes from an animal. If, however, an ice cream is made with coconut milk but contains egg, it is dairy-free but not vegan, since it has egg.Is an Oreo vegan? ›
Are Oreos really vegan? Oreo cookies do not contain any animal-derived ingredients and are safe to eat for vegans. If you have a dairy allergy, keep in mind that Oreos have milk as cross-contact.Can vegans eat chocolate bars? ›
Ah, chocolate. With its multitude of good qualities, it's no wonder that one of the first questions asked by those thinking about an animal-friendly lifestyle is “wait a minute, can vegans eat chocolate?” The answer is a resounding YES!Do vegans eat candy? ›
Fortunately, loads of candies are vegan, so we can indulge our cravings (mostly) guilt-free. Most dark chocolate is vegan, as are popular sweet treats such as Smarties (known as Rockets in Canada), Oreos, Airheads, Jujubes, and Swedish Fish (some Swedish Fish contain beeswax, so be sure to check the label).
Are marshmallows vegan? Most marshmallows on the market contain gelatin, which is often derived from the skin and bones of cows and pigs. It was added to the recipe to give the soft candy more of a stable form. Because gelatin comes from dead animals, marshmallows made with it are not vegan.Is honey vegan? ›
Honey is by definition not vegan, since it a bee product, and bees are animals. Here's a nuanced article about how the ethical issues surrounding this sweetener fit into the broader concept of vegan living.Can vegans eat honey? ›
Most vegans choose not to consume honey or use honey-based products as they believe honey production exploits bees. However, some people believe raising honeybees is ethical as they help pollinate plants.Is Reese's vegan? ›
Unfortunately, all peanut butter cup flavors listed on the Reese's website are not vegan as they contain milk-based products. These non-vegan Reese's varieties include: Traditional, Dark, Crunchy, Pieces, Peanut Butter Lovers, and Chocolate Lovers. However, each of these flavors would be considered vegetarian friendly.Is M&M vegan? ›
Milk chocolate is made with skim milk, lactose, and milkfat meaning that M&Ms contain dairy and are not vegan.Is Dove chocolate vegan? ›
Is Dove Dark Chocolate vegan? No, Dove Dark chocolate isn't vegan because it has milk fat. Look for chocolates or dark chocolates that use almond milk or non-dairy ingredients instead of milk powder.What chocolate is considered vegan? ›
Most dark chocolate is inherently vegan. Superior quality dark chocolate only has a handful of ingredients: cocoa, (usually listed as cocoa mass and cocoa butter), sugar, lecithin, and sometimes vanilla.What common chocolate bars are vegan? ›
- Hershey's Signature Oat Made Classic Dark.
- CASSE-COU Espresso Dark Chocolate and Almond Bar.
- VGAN Chocolate Vegan Dark Chocolate with Grapefruit & Chia.
- Purdys Chocolatier Vegan Dark Chocolate Bar.
- Divine Treasures Chocolate Bar (a PETA Business Friend)