Rosy, red hair, and bright blue bows always seem to bring on an appetite for plant-based burgers and fries. But, just because we’re hankering for vegan hamburgers doesn’t mean we can have them at this animal-heavy fast food restaurant. Is there anything vegan at Wendy’s?
We took on the challenge of finding out for you. What did we learn? Most importantly, you should be aware that ordering from Wendy’s might result in a rumbling belly. If you’re careful and follow our suggestions, it’s possible that you can leave without too much disappointment. As long as you don’t mind fruit as a dessert.
Above all, be prepared. It’s probably not the best idea to go to Wendy’s after a long day at work or when you’re so stressed, you can hardly make a healthy decisions. Stick with our guide and you’ll be good to go!
Table of Contents
- How to Navigate the Wendy’s Menu
- Vegan Breakfast Choices
- Does Wendy’s Have a Veggie Burger?
- Are the Buns Vegan at Wendy’s?
- Savvy Salad Options
- Savory Sides
- Dressings and Dips That Are Vegan-Friendly
- NOT Vegan at Wendy’s Restaurant
- FAQs About Vegan Options at Wendy’s
- Helpful Hints When Ordering Vegan at Wendy’s
- Historic Vegan Moments in Wendy’s History
- Fascinating Facts about Wendy’s Restaurant
- Creating a Kinder and More Accessible Wendy’s Vegan Experience
- How To Order Vegan at Other Fast Food Burger Chains
How to Navigate the Wendy’s Menu
When you walk into a Wendy’s restaurant, it’s safe to say that you may be overwhelmed by what’s being offered. Stick to this plan and we’re positive you’ll make the best plant-based purchases. Here’s what we suggest:
- Say Yes To the Salad– Choose a salad without meat, cheese, or croutons and enjoy with a vegan-friendly dressing, salsa, or avocado as a topping.
- Pacify Potato Preferences– Pick a plain potato or a potato with chives and ask for no butter, cheese, or sour cream.
- Make a “Meh” Burgerless Veggie Burger– Make your own veggie “burger” (see below), which is a bun filled with lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, and add avocado and/or seasoned potatoes or fries added to it. Make a DIY Wrap the same way, substituting a flour tortilla for a bun.
- Decide on “Dessert” – Aim for apple bites or consider buying the mixed berry cup, if available.
NOTE: If you are worried about cross-contamination with any animal-based foods, you might want to skip the fries. Unfortunately, they are cooked in the same oil as everything else (including fish and dairy).
Are Wendy’s Fries Vegan?
Yes, vegans can enjoy Wendy’s fries, but only if you are comfortable with cross-contamination. Both Wendy’s Natural Cut fries and seasoned potatoes are made without any animal products, but they are fried in the same oil as the animal-based menu items. It’s totally up to you — it doesn’t make a lick of difference to animals. No judgement here.
Vegan Breakfast Choices
While we would not recommend choosing Wendy’s to build your breakfast, here are a few menu items that might appeal to you. Keep in mind that breakfast is served from 6:30-10:30 am, so some items may not be available after that time.
- Apple Bites
- Mixed Berry Fruit Cup (ask for availability)
- Apple or Orange Juice
- Seasoned Homestyle Potatoes
Does Wendy’s Have a Veggie Burger?
Although we’re listing this as a veggie “burger” option, it is just so sad to suggest. Order a Jr. Cheeseburger Deluxe and request no meat, no mayo, and no cheese. Ask for extra veggies and avocado and you’ll get their premium bun filled with lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, and raw onion.
If you really want to go all wild and crazy at Wendy’s, add a small order of fries smack dab in the middle of this burger-less-bun-blob. Not at all healthy, but it will probably satisfy your savory cravings, especially if you douse it with plenty of tangy ketchup and zesty mustard.
Are the Buns Vegan at Wendy’s?
Yes, the Premium buns at this burger joint do not contain any dairy or eggs. Bunderful!
Savvy Salad Options
Saved by the salad! This option is hardly worth the price with so many ingredients taken out, but at least you can add some extra veggies to your day. Which selection would you choose?
- Apple Pecan Chicken Salad – Ask for no chicken, blue cheese, or pecans (they contain milk). What’s left is romaine, spring mix, dried cranberries, sliced apples, and pomegranate vinaigrette.
- Side Salad – Order without cheese or croutons and add a vegan-friendly dressing. (Salsa or pomegranate vinaigrette are two choices.)
- Southwest Avocado Salad – Opt for no cheese, chicken, or bacon. Ask for salsa as a dressing. You’ll have a bowl of mixed romaine and spring greens, avocado, and tomato.
- Taco Salad – Request no cheese, chili, or sour cream. You’ll be left with romaine, tomatoes, onions, salsa, and tortilla chips. Add an order of avocado to top your taco salad.
- Natural Cut Fries
- Baked Potato (plain or chives with no butter, sour cream, or cheese)
- Seasoned Potatoes
- Tortilla Chips (ask the server)
Dressings and Dips That Are Vegan-Friendly
- BBQ Dipping Sauce
- Hot Chili Sauce
- Pomegranate Vinaigrette
- Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce
- Apple Juice
- Coffee (Cold Brewed and Hot)
- Coke Products
- Flavored Lemonades
- Iced Tea (plain and sweetened)
- Water Bottle
NOT Vegan at Wendy’s Restaurant
- Pecans – Includes both milk by-products and honey in the ingredients. Perfectly pitiful!
- Bakery Items – The biscuits, cookies, or croissants are not vegan-friendly. All contain eggs and dairy.
- Chili – Contains meat. (Wouldn’t it be wonderful if they offered a bean-based chili in the future?)
FAQs About Vegan Options at Wendy’s
Is Wendy’s Frosty vegan?
We wish that we could say yes to this. We think it would be a pretty easy swap to make with a dairy-free milk and ice cream, but it seems that Wendy’s isn’t ready yet. For now, Frosty beverages are frightfully full of dairy.
Are Wendy’s fries vegan?
Yes, Wendy’s fries are vegan! They are made without any animal products. Just note that they are fried in the same oil as Wendy’s other food, which makes it a no-go for some vegans. But this is completely up to personal preference.
Is Wendy’s Fresh Baked Oatmeal Bar vegan?
You’d think that this would be a healthy, plant-based breakfast option, but it has both eggs and honey as ingredients. Sadly, it’s a no-go.
Helpful Hints When Ordering Vegan at Wendy’s
- Browse the Wendy’smenubefore ordering.
- If ordering Wendy’sonlineor through a delivery service, make sure youclearlyspecify any substitutions you would like. If you’re worried that your request may not be honored (or seen by the server at Wendy’s), it might be a better idea to go there directly to order.
- Check out their Nutritional Informationpage to make sure that you are purchasing a vegan-friendly item. The menu items offered at Wendy’s don’t seem to change very often, but you may want to double check before you visit.
- Be careful when new and exciting seasonal products are offered at Wendy’s. Double-check the allergens and ingredients to make sure the item is vegan before purchasing.
Historic Vegan Moments in Wendy’s History
- June 2021 – Although not available any longer, Wendy’s tried out a Spicy Black Bean Burger (which was vegan with a few modifications). Let’s hope it comes back fully vegan at some point soon!
Fascinating Facts about Wendy’s Restaurant
- The 1st Wendy’s location was in Columbus, Ohio.
- Dave Thomas (the founder) used to work for Harland Sanders of KFC.
- Wendy’s is named after Dave Thomas’ daughter, Melinda Lou. Her nickname was Wenda.
- Wendy’s sells 300 million Frosty’s per year (whoa!)
- This fast food restaurant claims to have debuted the very first drive-up window in 1970.
Creating a Kinder and More Accessible Wendy’s Vegan Experience
Wendy’s, you need to get with it. Wake up and get a whiff of the plant-based burgers offered at other restaurants! Since there are many mainstream burger chains catching the train to Veganville, you could totally take the lead with your very own vegan burger and bust out on top. It’s time to leave the bun-only-burger behind! (Please don’t get me started with puns about buns…). In the meantime (while we wait for Wendy’s to wise up), we can alwayswrite to, call, or contactthe managers of any location to make our requests.
Have you found any otherWendy’soptions to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Let us know by tagging #worldofvegan and sharing your favorite vegan-at-wendys creations with all of us!
How To Order Vegan at Other Fast Food Burger Chains
- Burger King
- Carl’s Jr.
- Five Guys
- In-N-Out Burger
- TGI Friday’s
- White Castle
Our vegan at Wendy’s article is not sponsored and we are in no way affiliated with Wendy’s. At the time of this article, the menu items mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan at Wendy’s and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.
The vegan options at Wendy's are pretty limited. You can go with a baked potato, side salad, fries* or “fries* on a bun.” Seriously, check out the “fry sandwich” below. Super weird, but oddly good. Other than that, go for a salad and make the required modifications.Does Wendy's have a vegetarian sandwich? ›
Our meat-free burger is a custom blend of vegetables, grains and spices, topped with emmental cheese, juicy tomatoes, crisp lettuce and garlic mayonnaise – all in a toasted premium bun.Is Wendys Frosty vegan? ›
Are Wendy's Frosties vegan? No. Wendy's frosty's in all flavors contain milk so they are not vegan.Can you order a Wendys salad with no meat? ›
Say Yes To the Salad – Choose a salad without meat, cheese, or croutons and enjoy with a vegan-friendly dressing, salsa, or avocado as a topping. Pacify Potato Preferences – Pick a plain potato or a potato with chives and ask for no butter, cheese, or sour cream.Are Wendy's potatoes vegan? ›
Yes! Luckily, Wendy's Natural Cut Fries are vegan, along with their Seasoned Homestyle Potatoes!Is Wendy's bun vegan? ›
Wendy's offers two hamburger buns that don't contain any animal products—the Sandwich Bun and the Premium Bun. While the Premium Bun is technically vegan, it is toasted on surfaces where allergens, including milk and pork fat, are also toasted, so you may choose not to eat it.Is Wendy's baked potato vegan? ›
“At Wendy's, you can order a baked potato,” Gorin says. “Many of the topping options are not vegan, so request scallions and add black pepper on your own to jazz things up.” Surprisingly enough, the baked potato is probably your best bet at vegan protein on the menu.Is Wendy's cheese vegan? ›
Wendy has prepared mouthwatering, nutritious vegetarian and vegan meals for more than 25 years. Wendy's line of vegan cheese - Wendy's Nutty Cheese - is made with all organic, non-gmo ingredients.Does McDonald's have vegan options? ›
Unfortunately, no McDonald's menu items are certified as vegan or vegetarian. While some ingredients may not contain animal ingredients, we cannot guarantee that there will be no cross-contamination of ingredients during transportation, storage or preparation in our kitchens.Does Wendy have vegetarian meals? ›
Wendy's has a veggie sandwich that's pretty much their basic sandwich without meat. It has all the typical veggies and toppings on their classic bun. It's basically a salad that you eat with your hands. Finally, if you're feeling really adventurous, there's the Frywich.
Although Wendy's is not the most vegan-friendly fast food restaurant, their fries are made without animal derivatives! They are also cooked in vegetable oil. However, this same oil is used to cook non-vegan products like chicken.Can you get a lettuce bun at Wendy's? ›
You Can Order “No Bun” or a Lettuce Wrap at Wendy's
It'll come in a side container along with a fork and knife. Make sure you ask for your desired condiments on the side. If you want your sandwich in a hand-held form, be sure to ask that it's made as a lettuce wrap.
Although Wendy's is not the most vegan-friendly fast food restaurant, their fries are made without animal derivatives! They are also cooked in vegetable oil. However, this same oil is used to cook non-vegan products like chicken.Does Wendy's have vegan cheese? ›
Wendy has prepared mouthwatering, nutritious vegetarian and vegan meals for more than 25 years. Wendy's line of vegan cheese - Wendy's Nutty Cheese - is made with all organic, non-gmo ingredients.